201-CO Course Description (Live-Fire Range Session Included)
Our 201-CO course has been taught to thousands of students and it covers not only the basics such as handgun safety, defensive ammunition and shooting fundamentals but also selecting a defensive handgun, holsters, laws, use of deadly force, concealed carry restrictions and many other aspects.
201-CO is a comprehensive course that goes far beyond the typical basic handgun safety course.
Don't settle for one of those "coffee & donut" courses offered by many of the other training providers. Please understand that carrying a concealed handgun comes with huge responsibility. Unfortunately, many permit holders don't know that they don't know enough. Truly, nothing is obvious to the uninformed.
Get real training from our professional firearms instructors for the same or even lower tuition in some cases. Do it right.
201-CO Course Length: 5 Hours Classroom + Range Session
Tuition: $149/person or $99/person for groups of 3 or more registering together
Optional range session upgrade to our 202-IDH Introduction to Defensive Handgun 4-Hour Range Course!
Students may upgrade the 1-hour range session that is included in our 201-CO course to our 4-hour, 202 - Introduction to Defensive Handgun course for an additional $99. The 202 - IDH course is also available as a standalone range course for $149. Thus, 201-CO students save $50 by bundling the courses together. A nominal $20 range fee applies to either range session and is not included in the course tuition.
Colorado Permit Information
Colorado is one of the "shall-issue" states where the concealed handgun permit is issued at the county level and valid statewide as well as accepted in up to 29 other states as shown in green on the map below. The Colorado permit costs $152.50 for the first 5 years and about $50 to renew every 5 years thereafter.
Vermont does not require a permit but is shown in blue for reference purposes. Please note that acceptance of a concealed handgun permit by another state is subject to change at any time and it remains the responsibility of the permit holder to verify acceptance, as well as to research the local laws and carry restrictions, before carrying. Thus, the coverage map below is for initial reference purposes only.
Utah vs. Florida Permits & Other Permits (Optional as Additional Permits)
The states shown in yellow do not accept the permit issued in Colorado but will accept the Utah permit when carried by a non-resident of Utah. PROFIRE USA offers the 201-UT course for students wanting to add the Utah permit as an additional permit to increase their carry-coverage up to 35 states.
Utah requires permit applicants to complete a specific Utah course that is taught by a Utah certified instructor. Before you can apply for the Utah permit as a non-resident of that state, you must have received a permit from your home state unless it is not available. The certification received when you complete the Utah course, which you may take prior to receiving your permit issued in Colorado, is valid for one year. Please contact us for more information.
We can also give you information on permits that may be available to you from other states such as those shown in brown on the above map. These states DO NOT accept the Colorado or Utah permits but you may be able to obtain a permit from these states if carry there is very important to you.
For example, we routinely see other instructors pitching their concealed carry course saying that it allows you to apply for the Florida permit which is a good permit. However, when a Colorado permit holder adds the Florida permit instead of the Utah permit as a second permit, they get only four more states instead of five because Minnesota does not accept the Florida permit.
The Utah permit costs $65 and then only $10 to renew every five years. The Florida permit costs $117 and then $107 to renew every seven years. At our 201-UT course, we include the required fingerprinting and photo services at no additional cost. For the Utah permit, we are authorized to provide the fingerprinting services whereas Florida requires fingerprinting to be done by a law enforcement agency.
Some of the other training providers charge up to $50 to provide you with fingerprinting, photo, application form and "application completion" services for the Florida permit. This is unnecessary since you can simply request that an application be mailed to you from Florida without cost and then pay about $10 to $15 locally for fingerprinting services from Colorado Correctional Industries and other law enforcement entities.
Thus, if you go with Florida instead of Utah as your second permit, you will pay $52 more now and get one less additional state. At your first renewal, you will pay $97 more for the Florida permit. There are even some other instructors that tell their students to apply for both the Utah and Florida permit even though they overlap with respect to the additional states not covered by the permit issued in Colorado.
You can certainly apply for the Florida permit if you wish after completing our 201-CO course and the included range session but if you want only one additional permit the Utah permit is a better value. The lower application and renewal fees for the Utah permit will also pay for your 201-UT course tuition as of your first renewal and you will be able to carry in one more state than with the Florida permit.
Colorado Permit Training Requirements
Applicants must provide acceptable evidence of handgun training in the form of an original course certificate dated within 10 years. Alternatively, applicants with law enforcement experience, or military service with pistol qualification listed on their DD-214, in the last 10 years may apply without taking another course. The same is true for applicants with current or past military service in the last 3 years with or without pistol qualification listed on their DD-214.
Colorado Permit Application Procedure
Applications are made at your local Sheriff's office except for residents of Broomfield and Denver where the application is taken at police headquarters.
201-CO Course - Register Now Securely Online
If you are registering more than one student, add the course to the cart first below then change the quality in the cart before clicking the checkout button. You DO NOT need to have a PayPal account. After clicking the checkout button, click on the link below the PayPal login to then securely enter your credit or debit card number.
Click Here to View the Class Schedule Page w/Class Times
To register, click on the register button in the right column of this page or here.